There Are Yoga Teachers Making $10k A Month

And They Don't Have Huge Audiences On Instagram... Want To Know How?

Alchemy of Happiness: The Crown Chakra

Yoga | Yoga for Beginners

The seventh chakra, also known as Sahasrara or the crown chakra, is often depicted as a thousand-petal lotus flower in full bloom at the crown of your head.

This lotus flower’s roots connect to the Earth and its petals flow out from the crown and back down through the chakras as a stream of Divine wisdom and awareness. Opening the crown chakra is not just a matter of lifting our energy UP, but of moving it DOWN for manifestation to occur as well.

In this way, the chakras condense the cosmic energy of universal consciousness, condensing it into the seven levels of manifestation: thought, light, sound, air, fire, water, and earth.

Sahasrara is about understanding our true nature and connecting it with a higher level of consciousness. It is in this chakra that we begin to expand our awareness, pay attention without assigning thoughts, feelings, or expectations, and find deeper meaning in all our experiences.

The Crown Chakra

The Sanskrit word Sahasrara literally translates to "thousand fold” in English. This chakra, located at the top of the head, about two inches or four finger-breadths above the cerebral cortex, governs our intention for liberation, our right to knowledge, and our duty for self-knowledge.

Color: Violet or white

Element: Thought

Sense: Intelligence, also called the seventh sense

Healing Stones: Quartz, diamond, white amethyst

Affirmations: “Love surrounds, nourishes and protects me. May I live in the present moment.” (From here, we can choose consciously and see that everything has a point.) “May I have a clear and open connection with source energy (spirit) and live in the present moment.”

Mantra: “I am aware.”

Psychology of Sahasrara

The crown chakra is concerned with knowledge, consciousness, awareness and self-awareness, truth and reality, the release of attachment, spirituality, transcendence, and bliss.

It governs our sense of ethics and karma, our idea of God or Goddess, Divine discontent, our spiritual awakening, our capacity for symbolic vision and unconditional love, and our search for meaning, grace, and ultimate liberation.

Excess in this chakra is marked by spiritual addiction, over-intellectualization, confusion, or dissociation from the body, while a deficient seventh chakra is given to spiritual cynicism, mindlessly rigid belief systems, or excess in lower chakras resulting in attachment, materialism, and greed.

Focusing on the Crown Chakra

The way to focus the seventh chakra is to ask ourselves these key questions.

  1. Who am I?
  2. What do I believe about the universe?

Meditating on the crown chakra opens the door to a stronger understanding and intuitive knowledge of your inner spirit. As a result, you experience the universal connection within all beings. Your spirit is strengthened through infinite joy, which yoga tells us is our true nature.

When connected to Sahasrara, your personal vibration increases along with the human vibration. What you do for yourself, you do for humankind. As you go about your day, contribute your unique voice to making this world a better place.

The limitless light in me recognizes and celebrates the light in you. And when we are both in that special place, we are one.

Featured in New York Magazine, The Guardian, and The Washington Post
Featured in the Huffington Post, USA Today, and VOGUE

Made with ♥ on planet earth.

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap